Oklahoma Court Records
What is Child Support and When does it Occur in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, to preserve the children’s well-being and lessen any financial suffering after divorce or separation, the non-custodial parent will make financial provisions to the other parent. This system is referred to as child support. Two entities ensure that child support orders are followed by employing punitive measures; the court and The Child Support Services (CSS) division of the Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS). The DHS is the state agency that manages family and welfare matters in the state of Oklahoma. The CSS division has the authority to initiate legal action against violators of a child support order and even withhold the violator’s earnings.
Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching more straightforward, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the document or person involved
Third-party sites are independent of government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party websites may vary.
What is Oklahoma Child Support?
Child support in Oklahoma, under § 43–112 of Title 43 of the Oklahoma Statutes, refers to payment from one separated parent to the other to support the expenses of catering to a child’s need. The remission is periodic and continues until the child is recognized as independent by the law.
What Does Child Support Cover in Oklahoma?
The coverage of child support in Oklahoma according to the Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligations include housing, food, transportation, basic public educational expenses, clothing, and entertainment.
What is the Average Child Support Payment in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma determines child support payments using the Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligations. This guideline considers various factors of each child support case to assign the child support amount payable. These factors include the gross income of each parent, the number of children involved, and the residential situation of the children with each parent. Thus, the amount set as child support for each family is different. The minimum amount set as child support is $50 for families with a combined gross income of $50. The maximum amount listed in the guideline is $2955 for a family with a combined gross income of $15,000, and six children. The court determines the child support for families that exceed this gross income.
How do I apply for Child Support in Oklahoma?
To apply for child support in Oklahoma, interested persons must complete the Application for Child Support Services Form 03EN001E can be downloaded or completed online. To request an application via mail, contact the child support care service center; OKC metro area only (405) 522-CARE (522–2273), Tulsa metro area only (918) 295–3500, other areas call toll free 1–800–522–2922.
The completed copies can be sent via mail to:
Case Initiation Center
P. O. Box 248843
Oklahoma City, OK 73124–8843
Families seeking Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) benefits or non-TANF Medicaid benefits are referred to OCSS for child support services. Interested parties are not expected to fill or send an Application for Child Support Services. To individuals keen on applying for “locate only” services, the Locate Only Rights & Responsibilities (Form 03EN007E) must be filled and completed.
Upon receipt of the application, the application will be assessed for proper action and assigned to a child support office. Incomplete applications are thus returned for additional information.
How Do I Get Out of Paying Child Support in Oklahoma?
The child support service can review support orders requested by the law. After an administrative hearing, an individual can appeal the order in a law court before an administrative order is entered to authorize a child support order. This appeal to the district court must be filed within the time frame set, which is generally 30 days in Oklahoma.
Any of the parents may request a review of the order through a Pro Se Modification process. The Oklahoma DHS CSS CARE Center at 1–800–522–2922 can be reached to request a Pro Se Modification packet.
What is Back Child Support in Oklahoma?
Back child support, arrears, arrearage, delinquent child support payment, or past-due support are altogether the terms used to mean the aggregate sum of unpaid support payments that have accumulated under a support order.
Most often than not, the collection of delinquent child support payments in Oklahoma is dealt with by deducting the delinquent parent’s wages right until the payments are current again. This strategy is often called an income assignment, and the Oklahoma Department of Human Services or the local District Attorney’s office oversees the process.
How do I Get Back Child Support Paid in Oklahoma?
There are various strategies child support services can employ to implement the support orders and receive back child support. To enforce the support order, the child support service can order income withholding, intercept federal and state tax refunds and other federal payments, seize properties, or file a contempt citation in the district court, which may incorporate jail time.
The custodial parent in denial can request a judge to enforce the child support order and also include additional orders that might help in collecting child support. Alternatively, parents can visit the Oklahoma Department of Human Services website to locate the support enforcement agency in various counties to request an order.
Is there a Oklahoma Statutes of Limitation on Child Support?
In Oklahoma, a non-custodial parent is not subjected to a Statute of Limitations.
Nonetheless, Oklahoma accommodates an interest rate of 10% per year on all the accrued back child support.